Hickory Creek's Rigoni Named Honorary Chairman of Medieval Classic

Greg Rigoni, a teacher and coach at Hickory Creek School, will attend games and hand out trophies on the final day in his role at honorary chairman of the Medieval Classic.

Greg Rigoni, who has more than three decades of coaching and teaching experience in the Lincoln-Way area, was picked to chair Lincoln-Way's annual Medieval Classic. The boys and girls basketball tournament will be played Dec. 26-29 at Lincoln-Way East and Lincoln-Way North high schools.

"Greg is someone our community should know," Lincoln-Way East athletic director Dave Brost said. "He attends our football games, our basketball games, our soccer matches. He's a Lincoln-Way guy who is dedicated to his community. Who better to serve as an Honorary Tournament Chair than someone who has served all those years."

The roster of teams in this year's field: Lincoln-Way Central, Lincoln-Way East, Lincoln-Way North, Lincoln-Way West, Joliet Catholic Academy, Oak Forest, Oak Lawn, Plainfield South, Queen of Peace, Shepard, Lincoln Park and Thornton Fractional South.

As Honorary Tournament Chair, Rigoni will attend games and hand out trophies on the final day.

For 33 years, he has taught physical education and health education in Frankfort School District 157-C. He also has coached sports programs at Frankfort Junior High School and Hickory Creek Middle School.

This is his 32nd year coaching boys/girls basketball. He holds the record for longest enure and the most wins as a basketball coach in 157-C. He boasted a career record of 445-320 heading into play in 2011-12. Included were 20 winning seasons.

Rigoni also coached one season of freshman girls basketball at Lincoln-Way Central High School. He joins a long list of distinguished Honorary Tournament Chairs. This list:

2010—Brenda Jensen, retired Lincoln-Way East principal; 2009—Jeff Boubelik, retired Frankfort Park District diretor; 2008—Bob Romadka, retired Lincoln-Way District 210 teacher; 2007—Jim Randall, executive director Frankfor Square Park District; 2006—James T. Fagan, former Lincoln-Way District 210 school board member; 2005—Jim Kohlbacker, former chair Citizens for Lincoln-Way referendum committee; 2004—Michael Gardner, Lincoln-Way North principal; 2003—Dennis Hardy, Lincoln-Way East athletic booster; 2002—Michael Kelly, former Lincoln-Way counselor; 2001—Chief Darrell Sanders, Frankfort Police Department; 2000—Dennis Michels, former Lincoln-Way athletic director.

1999—Bill Dowling, former athletic booster; 1998—Jim High, former math teacher; 1997—Sam and Sandy Baugh, Lincoln-Way athletic boosters; 1996—State Rep. Renee Kosel; 1995—Gene Morrall, school volunteer/videographer at athletic events; 1994—Jackie Panagos, District 210 Advisory Committee chair; 1993—Pat Quigley, former teacher; 1992—Bob Sturgeon, former Frankfort newspaper editor; 1991—Lawrence A. Wyllie, Lincoln-Way District 210 superintendent.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »